SmartHomeGym

MAXPRO vs Speediance: Smart Home Gyms Compared

By Sepehr Sabbagh-pour, founder and editor · Published

AI-generated concept illustration: two generic compact digital cable resistance devices side by side, one with a volt green light ring
AI-generated illustration

Key takeaways

  • MAXPRO lists the SmartConnect at 9.4lb (about 4.3kg), folded about 41cm by 18cm, at around £963 (checked Oct 2026).
  • Speediance lists the Gym Monster 2S at 78kg or more and 1.85m tall when folded, at around £3,599 (checked Oct 2026).
  • MAXPRO states no subscription is needed; Speediance sells Wellness+ and Care separately with no price on the pages checked.
  • The resistance figures are not comparable: MAXPRO's 300lb is a dial range, Speediance's 130lb is a per-arm limit.
 MAXPRO Fitness SmartConnect Cable Home GymSpeediance Gym Monster 2S
CategorySmart Gym SystemsSmart Gym Systems
PriceAround £963 (checked Oct 2026)Around £3599 (checked Oct 2026)
Space Neededsmallmedium
Best Forbeginner, intermediate, advancedbeginner, intermediate
ResistanceDial with 50 settings, 5 to 300lb (about 2.3 to 136kg), per the maker's page (its page title says 7-300lb)Per arm up to 130lb (about 59kg); total stated as 220lb/100kg on the US page and 120kg on the EU page
Cable9ft (about 2.7m) cable; maker states expected cable life of 1.5 to 2 years depending on use—
Unit Weight9.4lb (about 4.3kg); box 17lb with accessories—
Size Unfolded32.3in L x 3.6in W x 4.11in H (about 82 x 9 x 10cm)1.22 x 0.69 x 1.85m (US page); 1240 x 690 x 1850mm (EU page)
Size Folded15.98in H x 7.2in W (about 41 x 18cm); depth not published0.37 x 0.69 x 1.85m (US page); 390 x 690 x 1850mm (EU page)
PowerRechargeable 18650 Li-ion battery, USB charge about 40 minutes, stated run life 2 months—
AppMAXPRO Performance & Coaching app; maker states no subscription needed—
Warranty2 years from delivery for the original purchaser; cables excluded (maker's warranty page)2 years standard (US and EU pages); 30-day return window stated
Weight—78.00kg on the US page; about 82kg on the EU page
Footprint—About 9.04 sq ft (0.84 sq m) unfolded, 2.69 sq ft (0.25 sq m) folded per the US page
Screen—21.5-inch 1080p touchscreen
Motor—Two 800W permanent magnet synchronous motors
Pulley Height—10 settings, 306mm to 1656mm (US page)
Packages—2S Basic (no bench), Works Plus (adjustable bench), Family Plus (adjustable and rowing bench)
 Check PriceCheck Price

MAXPRO vs Speediance is a choice between two different kinds of product: the MAXPRO SmartConnect is a 9.4lb (about 4.3kg) portable cable unit at around £963 (checked Oct 2026), and the Speediance Gym Monster 2S is a 78kg-plus folding machine with a 21.5-inch touchscreen at around £3,599 (checked Oct 2026).

Choose by space, budget and how much of a machine you want, not by "which is stronger". This comparison uses the makers' pages only; the site does not test products.

Specification comparison

ItemMAXPRO SmartConnectSpeediance Gym Monster 2S
Indicative price (checked Oct 2026)Around £963Around £3,599 (package not specified)
ResistanceDial, 50 settings, 5-300lb (about 2.3-136kg)Up to 130lb per arm; total 220lb/100kg (US page) or up to 120kg (EU page)
Weight9.4lb (about 4.3kg)78kg (US page); about 82kg (EU page)
Unfolded size32.3in long (about 82cm)1.22-1.24m x 0.69m x 1.85m
Folded sizeAbout 41cm tall x 18cm wide0.37-0.39m x 0.69m x 1.85m
ScreenNone; phone app and screen mirroring21.5-inch 1080p touchscreen
PowerRechargeable battery, stated 2-month run lifeTwo 800W motors (mains requirements not stated)
SubscriptionNone needed, per makerWellness+ AI coaching sold separately; price not shown
Warranty2 years; cables excluded2 years standard; Speediance Care extension sold separately
Returns (maker's store)30 days, unused and in original packaging30-day window, terms in refund policy

Which is cheaper, the MAXPRO SmartConnect or the Speediance Gym Monster 2S?

The MAXPRO SmartConnect is cheaper, at around £963 against around £3,599 for the Speediance (both checked Oct 2026). The Speediance price depends on the package, as the maker sells Basic, Works Plus and Family Plus versions, and the indicative figure does not say which one it reflects.

The Speediance total can also grow with add-ons: Wellness+ and Speediance Care are listed separately and the pages checked show no price for either. MAXPRO states no subscription is needed.

Which is easier to store?

The MAXPRO SmartConnect, which the maker lists at 9.4lb (about 4.3kg) and about 41cm by 18cm folded. The Speediance is listed at 78kg or more and stays 1.85m tall when folded, with folded floor space of about 0.25 to 0.26 sq m.

This is the clearest difference between them. The SmartConnect can go in a cupboard. The 2S is a fixed-position purchase, so plan the room and delivery route in advance. Layout ideas are in our small apartment home gym guide.

Do either of them need a subscription?

MAXPRO states no subscription is needed. Speediance sells Wellness+ AI coaching separately, and the pages checked do not show its price or billing terms. Its EU page describes Speediance Care as up to four years of protection, with repairs after the standard 24-month warranty at the owner's expense, again without a price.

Ask the seller what the package includes before paying, and whether features you want sit behind an add-on.

Does the Speediance have a higher resistance than the MAXPRO?

Not on the headline figures. MAXPRO lists up to 300lb on its dial, while Speediance lists up to 130lb per arm, but the two figures describe different designs and are not directly comparable. One is a cable unit's range; the other is a two-motor machine's per-arm limit.

Speediance's own regional pages also disagree on the total (220lb/100kg versus up to 120kg), so confirm it for the package you are quoted. MAXPRO's warranty page states a load limit of 300 pounds (136kg), and exceeding it may damage the unit. Speediance's US page also lists four resistance modes: chain, standard, eccentric and constant.

Do I need to own my home to use either?

Not on the maker pages checked. They describe a floor-standing machine and a portable unit rather than a fixed installation, and MAXPRO includes a door mount. Check each manual for set-up requirements and your tenancy terms. For related ideas see the home gym equipment for renters guide.

What does each product include?

MAXPRO describes the SmartConnect as a Smart Gym System: a small aluminium-alloy cable unit, 32.3in long, with a 9ft cable, driven by the MAXPRO Performance & Coaching app. It lists a 3-piece long bar, handles, ankle and wrist straps, a door mount and a USB charger.

Speediance describes the Gym Monster 2S as a folding machine with two 800W motors, ten pulley heights from 306mm to 1656mm and a touchscreen. It lists a Bluetooth ring, tricep rope, ankle straps, yoga mat, adjustable barbell, barbell pad and hooks, extension straps, a PowerGrip and an angle adapter, with an adjustable bench in Works Plus and an added rowing bench in Family Plus.

App, tracking and display

MAXPRO's unit has no screen: it reports reps, velocity and power through Bluetooth to its app, and the page lists Chromecast and Apple screen mirroring for a larger display. It also says heart rate monitor support, including Apple Watch, is "to be released". Speediance builds the display into the machine as a 21.5-inch touchscreen with 2.1 stereo audio and its own app for iOS and Android.

If you already train with a phone or tablet propped nearby, the MAXPRO approach adds little to the footprint. If you want one self-contained machine, the Speediance format provides it.

Running costs, warranty and delivery

MAXPRO's warranty page gives two years from delivery for the original purchaser, lists cables as a wear item outside the warranty, and puts expected cable life at 1.5 to 2 years. It covers service shipping only within the Continental US. Speediance states a two-year warranty on both its US and EU pages.

MAXPRO lists 5 to 7 business day standard shipping on its own store, and a 9.4lb unit that is 17lb boxed with accessories. Speediance's EU page describes shipping from Germany in 7 to 15 days, and its machine weighs 78kg or more, so check how the seller delivers it and whether it will be taken into a room of your choice. Neither maker's page checked gave UK delivery terms, and both showed stock as unavailable at the time checked, so confirm availability with the seller.

Who should skip both?

If you mainly want to lift heavy with a barbell, or have a very small budget, a basic set of adjustable dumbbells and a bench will cost less. If you dislike apps, both systems depend on one in some form, though MAXPRO states the app itself is free.

Which suits which situation?

  • Limited space, lower budget: the SmartConnect, because of its published weight and folded size.
  • A screen, benches and a machine format: the 2S, if you have the room and budget.
  • Mainly heavy barbell work: neither; see the power rack guide.

Before you buy

Confirm UK delivery, returns and warranty handling with the seller. Both makers' pages checked are US or EU stores; MAXPRO's lists prices in US dollars and does not mention UK availability. For individual breakdowns see the MAXPRO SmartConnect review and the Speediance Gym Monster 2S review, and for wider options the best smart home gym UK guide and cost-benefit guide.

Follow each maker's manual for set-up and loading. The NHS advises strengthening activities for all major muscle groups on at least 2 days a week for adults aged 19 to 64; speak to a doctor if you have a health condition.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is cheaper, the MAXPRO SmartConnect or the Speediance Gym Monster 2S?
The MAXPRO SmartConnect, at around £963 against around £3,599 for the Speediance (both checked Oct 2026). The Speediance price depends on the package, as the maker sells Basic, Works Plus and Family Plus versions.
Which is easier to store?
The MAXPRO SmartConnect, which the maker lists at 9.4lb (about 4.3kg) and about 41cm by 18cm folded. The Speediance is listed at 78kg or more and stays 1.85m tall when folded.
Do either of them need a subscription?
MAXPRO states no subscription is needed. Speediance sells Wellness+ AI coaching separately, and the pages checked do not show its price or billing terms.
Does the Speediance have a higher resistance than the MAXPRO?
Not on the headline figures. MAXPRO lists up to 300lb on its dial, while Speediance lists up to 130lb per arm, but the two figures describe different designs and are not directly comparable.
Do I need to own my home to use either?
Not on the maker pages checked. They describe floor-standing or portable units rather than fixed installations, and MAXPRO includes a door mount. Check each manual for set-up requirements and your tenancy terms.

Sources

  1. MAXPRO Fitness — MAXPRO Smart Gym System (SmartConnect) product page
  2. MAXPRO Fitness — MAXPRO Fitness warranty
  3. Speediance — Speediance Gym Monster 2S product page (US store)
  4. Speediance — Gym Monster 2S Works Plus product page (EU store)
  5. Speediance — Speediance Care and Wellness+ details (EU store)
  6. NHS — Physical activity guidelines for adults aged 19 to 64

See how we research.

You Might Also Like