The best power rack for a home gym depends on floor area and budget. From maker specifications, the GYM MASTER cage (around £100, checked Oct 2026) is the smallest and cheapest, the Body-Solid SPR1000 (around £1,097) is the commercial full rack, and the BodyPower TITAN (around £1,259) is a half rack with a lat tower.
This ranking is based on published specification, price and fit for a stated use. The site does not test racks, and the "Where to buy" block may show racks from brands that publish no specification page; those are not assessed here.
Specification comparison
| Rack | Style | Listed size | Listed capacity | Frame | Warranty | Indicative price (checked Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GYM MASTER Adjustable Squat Rack Cage | Cage with spotters and pull-up bar | 121.5cm wide, 121.5cm deep, 220.5cm high | 200kg J-cups and spotters; 120kg pull-up bar; total not stated | 50 x 50mm tube | Not published | Around £100 |
| Body-Solid SPR1000 | Commercial power rack | 81 x 53 inch footprint (about 206 x 134cm), about 90 inch (227cm) tall | 1000lb (about 454kg), per the data sheet | 3 x 3 inch, 11-gauge steel | Lifetime on frame and welds (data sheet) | Around £1,097 |
| BodyPower TITAN Half Rack | Half rack with lat tower | 157.6 x 175.8 x 216cm with lat tower attached | 400kg J-hooks and safety booms; 160kg lat tower | 75 x 75 x 3mm steel | Lifetime on frame excluding paint; 3 years components | Around £1,259 |
The three racks sit in very different price classes, so the table shows the range of what is sold rather than a like-for-like contest. The Body-Solid page lists its footprint as 81.0 inch long and 52.8 inch wide in one table and 81 x 53 x 90 inch in its description; the figures above use the page's rounded numbers.
Which power rack has the lowest price?
The GYM MASTER Adjustable Squat Rack Cage, at around £100 (checked Oct 2026), has the lowest indicative price of the three racks with maker pages compared here. The Body-Solid SPR1000 is roughly eleven times that and the BodyPower TITAN roughly twelve and a half times. That gap reflects different products, not a ranking of quality: the GYM MASTER page states the rack is not suitable for commercial use, while Body-Solid positions the SPR1000 for commercial application.
Price also excludes extras. BodyPower lists a bench, roller J-hooks, jammer arms, a multi-grip pull-up bar and a weight storage kit as separate accessories, and Body-Solid lists more than 15 optional attachments, so the final cost of a fuller set-up can exceed the figures above.
What is the difference between a power rack and a half rack?
A power rack has four uprights with the bar inside the frame, while a half rack has two uprights and the lifter stands in front. The layouts differ in floor area, height and which attachments they take. Neither layout is stated by any of the three makers to be safer than the other. The power rack vs half rack comparison goes through the published figures, and the guide to choosing a power rack covers the full set of buying criteria.
GYM MASTER Adjustable Squat Rack Cage
GYM MASTER's page lists a 50 x 50mm reinforced steel tube frame, 28 holes of 17mm diameter at 5cm spacing giving heights from 45cm to 197.5cm, and a 200kg maximum load for the J-cups and spotters. The solid steel knurled pull-up bar is rated to 120kg. The maker says it suits 6ft International or 7ft bars, and includes plate storage poles with adapters for standard and Olympic plates, one on each corner, plus ground anchoring bolts. Assembly is required and the page lists the tools needed but not supplied: two 17mm spanners, one 14mm spanner and a 4mm Allen key.
The maker does not state a total capacity, tube wall thickness, weight or warranty on its page. It also says the rack is not suitable for commercial use and strongly recommends bolting it to the ground. See the full GYM MASTER rack review.
Reasoning from the specification, this is the lowest-cost route into a cage and has the smallest base here. It stands 220.5cm tall, so the ceiling height of the room matters before anything else.
Body-Solid SPR1000 Commercial Power Rack
The Body-Solid data sheet lists a 3 x 3 inch, 11-gauge steel mainframe, 1 inch hole spacing with laser-cut numbers on the uprights, two J-cup liftoffs, two premium safety spotter bars and a 1000lb weight capacity. The product page adds an integrated chinning bar, more than 15 optional attachments and a link to the Body-Solid full commercial warranty. It also lists optional connector bars and monkey bars to bolt two racks together, and says the optional jammer arms require the rack to be bolted to the floor.
The page gives two different weights (282lb and 350lb) without explaining the difference. Details are in the Body-Solid SPR1000 review.
The listed footprint of roughly 206 x 134cm and height of about 227cm make this a rack for a dedicated room or garage. That is a reasoning point, not a quality claim: the maker positions it for commercial use, which may be more than a household needs.
BodyPower TITAN Half Rack
BodyPower lists a 75 x 75 x 3mm steel frame, 400kg capacity on the sandwich J-hooks, safety booms and monolifts, a 160kg lat tower rating and a 158.3kg rack weight. Included attachments are monolifts, a landmine, rear weight horns, a plate-loaded lat tower, resistance band pegs and dipping horns. The maker lists a lifetime frame warranty excluding paint, 3 years on components and 1 year on pads and grips, with wear and tear excluded. It can be converted to a full rack with extra uprights and a kit, sold separately. Read the BodyPower TITAN review for the full specification.
Because the lat tower is included, this is the only option here that adds high and low pulley work to the frame. The maker says its Premium Installation service for items over 85kg is ground floor only, which matters for upstairs rooms.
What weight capacity does the Body-Solid SPR1000 have?
Body-Solid's product data sheet lists a weight capacity of 1000lb, about 454kg. The maker's product page does not break this down by J-cup, safety or chinning bar, so treat only the overall figure as stated. The other two makers publish capacity differently: GYM MASTER gives 200kg for J-cups and spotters and 120kg for the pull-up bar without a total, and BodyPower gives a figure per component, from 400kg on J-hooks down to 160kg on the lat tower. Always check which part a number refers to, and remember that the load on the bar includes the bar itself.
Do I need to bolt a power rack to the floor?
All three makers recommend or advise anchoring. Body-Solid's manual says to securely anchor the machine to the floor using the anchor holes provided and to consult a professional contractor for the actual anchoring. GYM MASTER says it strongly recommends bolting its rack to the ground. BodyPower says its rack should be bolted to the floor where possible and warns that using jammer arms without the stated precautions can lead to injury or the frame tipping. Floor type matters, so see flooring for heavy weights, and ask a qualified professional about fixings.
Which suits which situation
- Lowest outlay and a smaller floor area: the GYM MASTER, provided the ceiling clears 220.5cm and a 200kg J-cup rating is enough for your loads.
- A large garage or dedicated room and the highest stated capacity: the Body-Solid SPR1000.
- A half-rack layout with a lat tower and landmine included, and a published per-part warranty: the BodyPower TITAN.
What to check before buying
- Ceiling height and clearance. Compare the listed heights (216cm, 220.5cm and about 227cm) with the room, allowing for any pull-up movement.
- Bench and bar compatibility. If you plan to bench inside the frame, check the bench against the rack's listed width. See the weight bench guide.
- Assembly. Body-Solid's manual says to obtain assistance if you cannot assemble the rack alone, and it lists M16 hardware and eight steel plates. GYM MASTER lists the spanners and Allen key you must supply.
- Delivery and returns. GOV.UK's guidance for sellers says a business must offer a full refund if an item is faulty, not as described or does not do what it is supposed to, and must offer a refund if a customer cancels an online order within 14 days of receiving it. Read the full terms on that page and the seller's own policy before ordering a rack this heavy.
- Rack safety. Follow each maker's manual, and speak to a qualified coach or fitness professional about setting safeties for your lifts.
For wider setup planning, see garage gym essentials.
Who should skip a rack
If the room is lower than the listed heights, or a setup is built around dumbbells and a bench, a rack can wait. Renters who cannot drill into a floor may also want to read home gym equipment for renters first, since all three makers recommend or advise anchoring.



