SmartHomeGym

Reebok GT40z Folding Treadmill Review: Specs

By Sepehr Sabbagh-pour, founder and editor · Published

Reebok GT40z Folding Treadmill product photo on a white background
Image: Reebok

Key takeaways

  • Reebok lists the GT40z at 1 to 18km/h with 12 electronic incline levels and a 130 x 45cm running area.
  • The maker's maximum user weight is 110kg (17.3 stone), and the set-up size is 168 x 77 x 134cm.
  • Folded dimensions, machine weight and warranty are not published on Reebok's page.
  • Reebok lists Zwift, Kinomap and the Reebok Console App, and a 5-inch LCD with 36 pre-set programmes.

The Reebok GT40z folding treadmill review below covers what Reebok states: a 2.0 Hp motor, a 1 to 18km/h speed range, 12 electronic incline levels, a 130 x 45cm running area and a 110kg user limit. On that specification it suits walkers and runners who want a higher top speed than the smallest folding machines.

This review is based on Reebok's published page, not on any use of the machine. This site does not test products.

What does Reebok say the GT40z is?

Reebok's page describes the GT40z as a folding treadmill with ONE Series cushioning that "helps to soften the impact of each stride", soft drop hydraulic folding and transport wheels. The console is a 5-inch LCD showing speed, time, distance, calories, pulse and incline, with hand pulse sensors and quick speed and incline keys on the hand rests.

A built-in speaker, a tablet stand, an integrated cooling fan and a water bottle holder are also listed, along with floor level adjustment that Reebok says gives a stable running platform.

Reebok GT40z specification

ItemReebok's stated figure
Motor2.0 Hp (the page does not say whether continuous or peak)
Speed range1 to 18km/h
Incline12 levels, electronic
Running area130 x 45cm
Maximum user weight110kg (17.3 stone)
Set-up dimensions168cm long x 77cm wide x 134cm high
Console5-inch LCD
Programmes36 pre-set, 3 user-defined, 3 target
AppsZwift, Kinomap and the Reebok Console App
Folded dimensionsNot published
Machine weightNot published
WarrantyNot published
Safety keyNot mentioned on the page

Is the Reebok GT40z suitable for running?

On the specification, yes for walking and running paces, up to the 110kg user limit. Reebok lists 1 to 18km/h, which it describes as running from a gentle jog to a fast run, with 12 electronic incline levels and ONE Series cushioning. The 18km/h ceiling is the highest firmly stated top speed among the treadmills compared on this site, since NordicTrack's own sheet gives conflicting figures.

The NHS counts running as vigorous activity, for which the adult target is at least 75 minutes a week, and describes the talk test as being able to say only a few words before pausing for breath. A 130cm running area is longer than the 108cm belt MERACH lists for the MR-T12B2.

Who does the specification suit?

The GT40z suits people who expect to increase pace over time or want incline changes from the hand rests, and who can give it 168 x 77cm of floor. The 110kg user limit is the lowest of the three machines compared in the best treadmill guide, so check it against everyone who will use the machine.

How much space does the Reebok GT40z need?

Reebok lists set-up dimensions of 168cm long, 77cm wide and 134cm high. That is about 1.29 square metres of floor before you add clearance behind the belt and at the sides (reasoning from the stated dimensions). Reebok says the deck folds with a soft drop hydraulic mechanism and that the machine has transport wheels, but it does not state folded dimensions or weight.

Work out storage only after asking Reebok or the retailer for the folded height and depth. Compare the fold approach with other models in the folding treadmill guide, and see home gym storage ideas for stowing equipment.

Which apps does the Reebok GT40z work with?

Reebok lists Zwift, Kinomap and the Reebok Console App, and says a smartphone or tablet connects through the supplied audio cable to the in-built speaker. Reebok lists 36 pre-set programmes, 3 user-defined and 3 target programmes, which adds up to 42, and the console shows pulse from hand sensors rather than a chest strap.

The page does not state whether any app needs a paid subscription, so check this if you want virtual routes or classes. The cooling fan, bottle holder and tablet stand are comfort features rather than performance specifications.

What does Reebok claim about cushioning?

Reebok says ONE Series cushioning helps reduce impact strain on sensitive joints and lowers impact vibration and noise. That is the maker's marketing statement, and the page gives no figures such as deck thickness, measured impact reduction or decibel level. Anyone with joint concerns should ask a GP or physiotherapist rather than rely on a cushioning claim. See the treadmill vs exercise bike guide for how seated cardio differs on body position.

Does the page state a warranty for the GT40z?

No. The Reebok product page opened for this review does not state a warranty, so check the warranty terms with the retailer before buying. It also does not mention a safety key, so read the manual for how the belt stops if the user steps off.

What should I ask the retailer before ordering the GT40z?

Because Reebok's page leaves several practical figures out, a short list of questions is more useful than a guess. Ask for the folded height, width and depth, so you can check a storage spot. Ask for the machine weight, which matters for moving it on its transport wheels and for floor loading upstairs. Ask whether the 2.0 Hp motor figure is continuous or peak, and what warranty applies to the motor, frame and parts.

Ask how the belt stops if the user steps off, since the page does not mention a safety key, and ask for a delivery date, because the page listed the GT40z as backordered. Finally ask for the refund policy in full, since the page only links to it.

How do the speed and incline settings relate to the NHS intensity guidance?

Reebok's range starts at 1km/h, so the specification covers a slow walk as well as a fast run. The NHS defines moderate activity by the talk test, where you can still talk but not sing, and vigorous activity as being able to say only a few words before pausing for breath. The NHS says a moderate activity becomes vigorous when you increase effort, so speed and incline are the two console controls that change effort on a machine like this.

For beginners, the NHS Couch to 5K plan takes 9 weeks or longer, with 3 runs a week and rest days between, and says the runs can be done on a treadmill. Week 1 starts with 1-minute runs followed by 1 minute 30 seconds of walking. This site gives no training advice beyond that published plan; ask a qualified professional about pace and incline.

What to check before buying

  • Motor rating. The page gives 2.0 Hp without saying if it is continuous or peak.
  • Warranty and delivery. Neither is stated on the product page; shipping is calculated at checkout and the page listed the GT40z as backordered when it was opened for this review.
  • Returns. The page links to a refund policy without showing its terms. GOV.UK says customers can cancel an online order up to 14 days after delivery without giving a reason, but read the seller's policy for assembled machines.
  • Folded size and weight. Not published; needed before you choose where it will be stored.
  • Assembly. Reebok's specification has no assembly guidance. Read the manual before ordering.
  • Noise and floors. See the noise and ventilation guide.
  • Safety. Follow the manual. The NHS advises seeing a GP before starting a running plan if you have any health concerns.

Who should skip the Reebok GT40z?

Anyone heavier than 110kg, since that is the maker's limit. Buyers who need a published folded size or warranty before ordering should look elsewhere or get both confirmed in writing. Anyone with only a small corner free may prefer a machine with a stated folded size, or a bike; the treadmill vs exercise bike guide sets the two side by side.

How does it compare on paper with the MERACH?

Set against the MERACH, the specification shows what the extra spend covers: an 18km/h top speed instead of 12km/h, 12 incline levels instead of a 15% incline setting, and a longer, wider running area. It gives up 26kg of user weight capacity and, so far as the pages go, a published folded size and warranty. Which trade-off matters depends on how you plan to use the machine and the room you have. For a lower indicative price and a stated folded size, see the MERACH MR-T12B2 review.

Price context

The indicative price is around £549 (checked Oct 2026). Retail prices move, so check the current figure on the retailer's page.

Where to Buy

Reebok GT40z Folding Treadmill product photo on a white background
Reebok

GT40z Folding Treadmill

Around £549 (checked Oct 2026)
Check price on Amazon+ Compare

Image: Reebok

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Reebok GT40z suitable for running?
Reebok lists a 1 to 18km/h speed range, 12 electronic incline levels and ONE Series cushioning, so the specification covers walking and running paces. It is rated for users up to 110kg, which should be checked first.
How much space does the Reebok GT40z need?
Reebok lists set-up dimensions of 168cm long, 77cm wide and 134cm high. It says the deck folds with a soft drop hydraulic mechanism but does not publish folded dimensions, so ask before planning storage.
What is the maximum user weight?
Reebok's page states a maximum user weight of 110kg (17.3 stone).
Which apps does the Reebok GT40z work with?
Reebok lists Zwift, Kinomap and the Reebok Console App, connecting to a phone or tablet via the supplied audio cable.
Does the page state a warranty for the GT40z?
No. The Reebok product page opened for this review does not state a warranty, so check the warranty terms with the retailer before buying.

Sources

  1. Reebok Fitness Equipment — Reebok GT40z Folding Treadmill
  2. NHS — Physical activity guidelines for adults aged 19 to 64
  3. NHS — Get running with Couch to 5K
  4. GOV.UK — Online and distance selling for businesses

See how we research.

You Might Also Like