SmartHomeGym

Schwinn IC3.5 Indoor Bike Review: Specs and Fit

By Sepehr Sabbagh-pour, founder and editor · Published

Schwinn IC3.5 Indoor Bike product photo on a white background
Image: Schwinn

Key takeaways

  • Schwinn lists a 113 kg maximum user weight for the IC3.5, against 136 kg for the 700IC and 150 kg for the 800IC on the same page.
  • Schwinn's page gives resistance as both 50 levels (0-100) and 100 levels, so confirm the figure with the seller.
  • The IC3.5 uses a wall adapter (cord included), so it needs a socket within reach.
  • JRNY, Peloton, Zwift and Kinomap work with the bike via partial FTMS, but each needs a separate subscription, per Schwinn.
  • Schwinn lists 115.5 x 53.5 x 109 cm and 38.3 kg assembled; no warranty is stated on the page opened.

The Schwinn IC3.5 is an indoor cycling bike with electronic resistance, dual-sided pedals and Bluetooth app connectivity. Schwinn's page lists a 113 kg maximum user weight, 115.5 x 53.5 x 109 cm dimensions and a wall adapter for power. This review rests on that published specification, not on use of the bike.

The Schwinn Fitness page also compares the IC3.5 with the 700IC and 800IC, so the first job for a buyer is to confirm which model a retailer is selling.

What the maker says the Schwinn IC3.5 is

Schwinn describes the IC3.5 as an indoor cycling bike with connectivity to cycling apps. The page lists a precision aluminium flywheel, an LCD display, a tablet holder, two water bottle holders and transport wheels. Resistance is electronic. The page is the maker's global site and the retail parent page covers several related models, so check that a retailer's listing is for the IC3.5 and not the 700IC or 800IC.

Who the specification suits

The listing points to riders who want an indoor-cycling posture and app-led sessions, who are at or below 113 kg, and who have a socket nearby, since the power source is a wall adapter. Riders over that limit are better served by a bike with a higher stated limit, such as the JOROTO X4S at 150 kg. This is reasoning from the figures, not a performance claim.

Specification (Schwinn's page)

ItemMaker's listing
Resistance"50 levels, electronically adjustable from 0-100"; the overview also says "100 levels of electronic resistance"
FlywheelPrecision aluminium (weight not stated)
PedalsDual-sided, SPD clip and toe cage
Seat and handlebarAdjustable (ranges not stated)
DisplayLCD, with tablet holder
ConnectivityBluetooth heart rate; "Partial FTMS (connects to specific fitness apps)"
App integrations namedJRNY, Peloton, Zwift, Kinomap; separate subscriptions required
Dimensions115.5 x 53.5 x 109 cm (L x W x H)
Assembled weight38.3 kg
Maximum user weight113 kg
PowerWall adapter (110V or 220V, cord included)
Bottle holders2
WarrantyNot stated on the page opened

The variants on the same page

Schwinn's comparison table lists three models. The 700IC has no app or Bluetooth connectivity, one bottle holder, runs on 2 AA batteries and has a 136 kg limit. The 800IC shares the IC3.5's connectivity, two bottle holders and wall-adapter power, with a 150 kg limit. The page gives full detail only for the IC3.5.

What is the maximum user weight of the Schwinn IC3.5?

Schwinn's page lists 113 kg (250 lb) for the IC3.5, which is the lowest of the three models on the page, against 136 kg for the 700IC and 150 kg for the 800IC.

A stated limit is the maker's ceiling for the bike, so a rider close to 113 kg has little margin. Someone in that position who still wants Schwinn's app connectivity would need to look at the 800IC listing rather than this one. The manual, which the product page links to rather than reproducing, is where any further instruction on use would sit.

How many resistance levels does the IC3.5 have?

Schwinn's page says "50 levels, electronically adjustable from 0-100" in the specification and "100 levels of electronic resistance" in the overview, so the page itself is inconsistent and the seller should confirm which applies.

Because the resistance is electronic rather than set by a knob, it is reasonable to expect it to rely on the power supply, which fits the wall adapter, but that is inference. The page does not describe what happens to the resistance setting if power is lost, so that is a question for Schwinn or the retailer rather than something to assume.

Does the IC3.5 need a power socket?

Yes. Schwinn lists a wall adapter as the power source, and the power cord is included.

The page gives the adapter as 110V or 220V. Reasoning from that, the bike has to stand within reach of a socket, or of an extension lead you are comfortable running across the floor, and that affects where it can sit in a spare room or flat. A battery-powered console, as on the JOROTO X4S, removes that constraint, though its resistance is set by a knob.

Do I need subscriptions to use the apps?

Yes. Schwinn says a separate digital subscription is required for connected apps such as JRNY, Peloton, Zwift and Kinomap.

"Partial FTMS" means compatibility is limited to specific apps, so check that the app you plan to use is on Schwinn's list before buying. If app-led riding is the reason for buying, those lines matter most; if not, the connectivity adds cost and a power requirement without adding to the base specification.

What the specification implies

Dimensions of about 115 x 54 cm mean a floor space slightly larger than a small chair, and 38.3 kg suggests it can be moved on its transport wheels but is not a bike to lift. Plan flooring using the flooring guide.

The dual-sided pedals matter for footwear: one side takes SPD cleats, the other a toe cage. The page does not say whether pedals are supplied with the cage fitted or if the cage includes straps, so ask before buying if that matters. The overall height of 109 cm is lower than the 146.6 cm listed for the ProForm 225 CSX upright, which may matter under a low ceiling or sloping roof, though no step-over height is published for either.

What to check before buying

  • Model name. The 700IC and 800IC are on the same Schwinn page, with different limits and power.
  • Resistance wording. The page says both 50 levels (0-100 range) and 100 levels. Ask the seller which figure applies.
  • Weight limit. 113 kg is the lowest of the three Schwinn models on the page.
  • FTMS. "Partial FTMS" means compatibility is limited to specific apps.
  • Warranty and assembly. The product page does not state warranty terms or assembly instructions; it links to a manuals page. Confirm both with the retailer.
  • Range of adjustment. Seat and handlebar are adjustable but no ranges are published, so rider height fit cannot be checked from the page.
  • Returns. GOV.UK guidance for sellers says a customer can cancel an order up to 14 days after delivery without giving a reason, and the returns guidance says a faulty or not-as-described item must be refunded. Ask how that works for a heavy bike.

Who should skip the Schwinn IC3.5

Riders above 113 kg are outside the stated limit. Anyone who wants no subscription costs, no mains lead or a published seat and handlebar range will find those lines missing or different here. Someone who needs a step-through frame should note that no step-over height is published.

How it compares on the numbers

BikeMax user weightWeight (maker)Power
Schwinn IC3.5113 kg38.3 kg assembledWall adapter
Hop-Sport HS-010H Rio120 kg12 kgBatteries (not included)
ProForm 225 CSX125 kg36 kg in boxNot published
JOROTO X4S150 kg42.5-44 kg (page inconsistent)Batteries

The IC3.5 has the lowest stated user weight, a mid-sized footprint and the only listing that names a wall adapter as power. It is also the only one whose maker page names Peloton and Zwift compatibility, with the "partial FTMS" caveat and separate subscriptions.

Alternatives

For a manual-knob indoor cycling bike with a stated 150 kg limit and rider height range, see the JOROTO X4S review. For an upright with 20 digital levels, see the ProForm 225 CSX review. The home exercise bike guide compares all four bikes on this site.

Price context

No current UK price was confirmed for this page, so check the retailer's listing. Compare price against the model variant on offer, because the 700IC and 800IC are listed on the same Schwinn page. The NHS lists riding a bike as moderate activity; ask a health professional before starting if you have a medical condition.

Where to Buy

Schwinn IC3.5 Indoor Bike product photo on a white background
Schwinn

IC3.5 Indoor Bike

Check current price
Check price on Amazon+ Compare

Image: Schwinn

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the maximum user weight of the Schwinn IC3.5?
Schwinn's page lists 113 kg (250 lb) for the IC3.5. The 700IC on the same page is listed at 136 kg and the 800IC at 150 kg.
How many resistance levels does the IC3.5 have?
Schwinn's page says "50 levels, electronically adjustable from 0-100" in the specification and "100 levels of electronic resistance" in the overview, so confirm with the seller which applies.
Does the IC3.5 need a power socket?
Yes. Schwinn lists a wall adapter as the power source, and the power cord is included.
Do I need subscriptions to use the apps?
Yes. Schwinn says a separate digital subscription is required for connected apps such as JRNY, Peloton, Zwift and Kinomap.

Sources

  1. Schwinn Fitness — Schwinn IC3.5 Indoor Cycling Bike
  2. NHS — Physical activity guidelines for adults aged 19 to 64
  3. GOV.UK — Online and distance selling for businesses
  4. GOV.UK — Accepting returns and giving refunds

See how we research.

You Might Also Like