The best exercise bike for home use depends on weight limit, space and budget. On published specifications, the JOROTO X4S suits heavier riders (150 kg), the ProForm 225 CSX suits small spaces, the Schwinn IC3.5 suits app-led riding and the Hop-Sport HS-010H Rio suits the lowest budget.
This ranking is based on published specification, price and fit for a stated use, not on testing. Prices are indicative and the makers' own pages are the source for every figure. Where a maker publishes nothing, the table says so.
What to compare when choosing an exercise bike
Four things separate most home bikes. The first is resistance type: a mechanical knob presses a pad against the flywheel, while a magnetic system moves magnets towards or away from it. The second is user weight and rider fit, because every maker lists a maximum user weight, and some also list a rider height range. The third is size and power: footprint, weight, and whether the console runs on batteries or needs a wall socket. The fourth is connectivity and subscriptions, since several makers sell content separately from the bike.
Seat and handlebar adjustment deserve a fifth look. A bike that fits one household member may not fit another, and only some makers publish the numbers needed to check. JOROTO lists a rider height range and seat levels, Hop-Sport lists a seat-to-pedal distance, and Schwinn and ProForm publish no adjustment ranges on the pages opened for this guide.
Specifications side by side
| Bike | Type | Resistance | Max user weight | Size (maker) | Console power | Indicative price | Warranty (maker) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schwinn IC3.5 | Indoor cycling | 50 levels, adjustable 0-100 | 113 kg | 115.5 x 53.5 x 109 cm | Wall adapter | Check retailer | Not stated on page |
| ProForm 225 CSX | Upright | 20 digital levels, magnetic | 125 kg | 89.2 x 53.8 x 146.6 cm | Not published | Check retailer | 5-year frame, 1-year parts and labor (US page) |
| JOROTO X4S | Indoor cycling | Magnetic, 6 magnets, knob | 150 kg | About 126 x 52 cm footprint | Batteries | Around £399.99 (checked Oct 2026) | 1 year |
| Hop-Sport HS-010H Rio | Upright | Mechanical knob | 120 kg | 93 x 42 x 120 cm | Batteries (not included) | Around £93.99 (checked Oct 2026) | Not stated on page |
Which exercise bike has the highest weight limit?
The JOROTO X4S has the highest weight limit here, at 150 kg according to the maker. ProForm lists 125 kg for the 225 CSX, Hop-Sport lists 120 kg for the HS-010H Rio, and Schwinn lists 113 kg for the IC3.5.
The same Schwinn page lists 136 kg for the 700IC and 150 kg for the 800IC, so a retailer listing for a Schwinn indoor bike needs checking against the model name. A maker's limit is a ceiling set by the maker, not a target, so choose a bike whose stated limit leaves clear margin above the heaviest person who will use it, and read the maker's manual for any further instruction.
Which suits which situation
Schwinn IC3.5: for app-led riding
Schwinn's page lists Bluetooth heart rate, "partial FTMS" and designed-to-work-with apps including JRNY, Peloton and Zwift, each needing a separate subscription. It has dual-sided pedals (SPD clip and toe cage), two bottle holders and a wall-adapter power source. The 113 kg limit is the lowest of the four bikes. Read the Schwinn IC3.5 review for detail on that page.
JOROTO X4S: for the widest rider range
JOROTO states a 150 kg maximum user weight and a rider height range of 150-195 cm. The seat and handlebar adjust four ways, and the console runs on batteries, so placement is not tied to a socket. Resistance is set by a knob rather than by an app. It is the most expensive priced bike here, at around £399.99 (checked Oct 2026). See the JOROTO X4S review.
ProForm 225 CSX: for a compact upright
ProForm lists a footprint of about 89 x 54 cm, 20 digital resistance levels, a 125 kg limit and transport wheels. Full iFIT content needs a paid iFIT Pro subscription and wifi, per the maker. It suits someone who wants an upright seat and a small footprint. More in the ProForm 225 CSX review.
Hop-Sport HS-010H Rio: for a low-cost start
The maker lists mechanical resistance, a 12 kg body and a 93 x 42 cm footprint, plus a four-function LCD (time, distance, calories, speed) and no connectivity. Details are in the Hop-Sport HS-010H Rio review.
What is the cheapest exercise bike in this comparison?
The Hop-Sport HS-010H Rio is the lowest-priced bike here, at around £93.99 (checked Oct 2026). It uses mechanical resistance and a four-function LCD console.
Only two of the four bikes have an indicative price confirmed for this guide, and prices move, so use the figures as context, not a quote. The confirmed prices sit around £94 and around £400; the Schwinn and ProForm have no confirmed UK price. A higher price does not by itself indicate a better fit, and the specification rows above are the better guide to whether a bike matches your height, weight and space. The exercise bikes under £300 guide goes further on the budget end.
Do I need a subscription to use these bikes?
No bike here requires a subscription for basic riding, but Schwinn and ProForm both say that connected-app content needs a separate or paid subscription.
Schwinn says a separate digital subscription is required for apps such as JRNY, Peloton, Zwift and Kinomap. ProForm says a free account is needed to activate the equipment, and a paid iFIT Pro subscription and wifi are needed for full content, while resistance can still be changed from the push buttons. JOROTO's page mentions a Kinomap trial but gives conflicting lengths. Hop-Sport lists no connectivity. If you want to ride without paying monthly fees, the knob-controlled bikes are simpler, and a console that shows time, distance and speed may be all you need.
Does cycling count towards NHS activity guidelines?
Yes. The NHS lists riding a bike as moderate activity for adults aged 19 to 64, and recommends at least 150 minutes of moderate activity a week.
The NHS guidelines also list riding a bike fast or on hills as vigorous activity, with 75 minutes of vigorous activity a week as the alternative target, and say strengthening work for the major muscle groups belongs on two or more days a week in addition. A bike therefore covers the aerobic part only. Anyone with a health condition should ask a GP or other health professional before starting.
Which exercise bikes run on batteries?
The JOROTO X4S and Hop-Sport HS-010H Rio consoles are battery powered per their makers, while Schwinn lists a wall adapter for the IC3.5.
The ProForm page lists USB-C charging but the pages opened do not say how the console itself is powered, so ask the seller. Hop-Sport notes that its batteries are not included. Reasoning from this, a bike with a wall adapter needs a socket or extension lead within reach of where it will stand, which matters in a flat or a box room, whereas a battery console gives more freedom over placement at the cost of replacing batteries.
Drive, flywheel and console details
The makers describe their mechanisms differently. JOROTO lists a belt drive with a 4.29:1 ratio and two solid flywheels (360 mm iron and 455 mm aluminium). Schwinn lists a precision aluminium flywheel without a weight. ProForm names its system Silent Magnetic Resistance and Hop-Sport describes a mechanical system adjusted by a front knob. Flywheel weight is a figure only JOROTO partly publishes, and even that page gives differing totals, so it is not a reliable basis for comparing the four.
Consoles also differ. Schwinn lists an LCD and a tablet holder, ProForm a 5 inch LCD with a device shelf, JOROTO a backlit monitor with time, distance, speed, RPM, resistance and calories, and Hop-Sport a four-function LCD. Reasoning from this, riders who want to follow classes on a tablet should look at the tablet or device holders first, and riders who do not need data can accept the simplest console.
What to check before buying
- Your weight and height against the maker's limits. Do not buy a bike whose stated limit is close to your weight.
- Power. The Schwinn IC3.5 uses a wall adapter; the JOROTO and Hop-Sport consoles use batteries.
- Subscriptions. App content from Schwinn, ProForm and others is a separate cost.
- Warranty and manual. Warranty length is published only for JOROTO (1 year) and, on a US page, ProForm. Hop-Sport's page says its instructions are in Polish, so ask whether an English manual is supplied.
- Delivery and returns. GOV.UK guidance for sellers says a customer can cancel an order up to 14 days after delivery without giving a reason, that a full refund is due for an item that is faulty or not as described, and that an item returned within 6 months must be repaired or replaced. Confirm how this applies to a bulky item with the seller.
- Floor and noise. See the home gym flooring guide and the noise guide.
Who should skip an exercise bike
If you want a full-body machine, compare options in the rowing machine vs exercise bike guide or the treadmill vs exercise bike guide. A rider above 150 kg is outside every stated limit in this comparison. Someone who needs a recumbent seat or a step-through frame will not find one here, because none of the four makers describes its bike that way; the seniors guide covers what to ask. For a tight budget see the exercise bikes under £300 guide.






