The Bowflex 5.1S Stowable Bench is an adjustable bench that its maker lists with six back-pad angles from a -20° decline to 90°, a 272 kg user-plus-load rating, a stowable design and transport wheels. This review reads the maker's published specification; the site does not test products.
What does Bowflex say the 5.1S is?
Bowflex describes the 5.1S as a stowable bench with a space-saving design and transport wheels for moving it. The back pad has six listed positions: 30°, 45°, 60°, 90°, flat and a -20° decline. The seat is described as adjustable, offering "maximum exercise options and comfort", but the page does not say how many seat positions there are.
The page does not state pad dimensions, materials, assembly requirements, wheel size or how the angles are locked. It also does not explain how the bench folds or locks into its stowed position, only the stowed dimensions. Those gaps matter for a bench that you will adjust and put away repeatedly, and the manual is the place to close them before you buy.
Who does the specification suit?
Going by the listed figures, this is a bench for someone who wants a wide range of back-pad angles, including a decline and an upright 90° position, and who can give it a standing spot. The angle list suggests it is aimed at seated shoulder work, incline presses and flat work with one frame.
Someone who only ever presses flat may not need that range; a flat bench like the GYM MASTER flat bench is far simpler and, according to its listing, lower priced.
Specification
| Item | Maker's figure |
|---|---|
| Maximum user + load weight | 600 lb (272 kg) |
| Product weight | 60 lb (27.2 kg) |
| Assembled (open) size | 155.6 x 71.3 x 125.8 cm (L x W x H); 61.3 x 28.1 x 49.5 in |
| Stowed size | 23.9 x 28.1 x 52.3 in (L x W x H) |
| Back-pad positions | 30°, 45°, 60°, 90°, flat, -20° decline |
| Seat | Adjustable (number of positions not published) |
| Wheels | Transport wheels (size and design not published) |
| Warranty | 2 years parts, 1 year upholstery |
| Pad dimensions, assembly details | Not published |
The stowed row on the maker's page shows a metric line with inch marks and different numbers, so the inch figures are used above. Converted, they are roughly 61 x 71 x 133 cm.
How much space does the Bowflex 5.1S need?
It needs a clear floor area of about 155.6 x 71.3 cm when open, plus room around it for dumbbells. This section is reasoning from the stated figures, not a report of use. That is longer than a typical flat bench such as the GYM MASTER, which lists a 110 cm length. The open height of 125.8 cm is the height of the back pad at its upright setting.
Stowed, the footprint reduces to roughly 61 x 71 cm, but the stowed height of 52.3 in (about 133 cm) means it stands tall. It suits a corner, alcove or garage wall more than a gap under furniture. The 27.2 kg weight and transport wheels matter if the bench will be moved between rooms; the page does not say how the wheels work on different floors. For more ways to store kit, see home gym storage ideas.
How many back-pad positions does the Bowflex 5.1S list?
Six: 30°, 45°, 60°, 90°, flat and a -20° decline, according to the maker's page. The lowest incline listed is 30°, so if you want a shallow incline, such as 15°, the angle list does not include one. Check that the available positions match the exercises you plan to do. NHS guidance says adults should do strengthening activities on at least two days a week that work all the major muscle groups; a bench supports some of those exercises but is not required for them.
What weight does the Bowflex 5.1S Stowable Bench support?
The maker states a maximum user and load weight of 600 lb (272 kg). Because that figure includes the user, the load you can add is lower by your own bodyweight; as arithmetic only, an 80 kg user would leave up to 192 kg for bar, plates and dumbbells, before any margin the manual requires. Follow the manual, and read home gym safety tips if you train alone. A bench is not a rack: if you want safety catches, see best power rack for a home gym.
Does the Bowflex 5.1S stow away?
Yes. The maker describes it as stowable and lists stowed dimensions of 23.9 x 28.1 x 52.3 in, with transport wheels. It stands tall when stowed, so check the height of your storage space. The page does not say what locks the bench in its stowed or open positions, so confirm that in the manual. If you rent and need kit that moves out easily, home gym equipment for renters may help.
What warranty does the Bowflex 5.1S have?
The maker's page lists 2 years on parts and 1 year on upholstery. The page's returns and delivery text refers to JHTD and a johnsonfitness.co.uk email address, so confirm the correct contact details with the seller before relying on them.
Does the maker say how many seat positions there are?
No. The page says the seat is adjustable but does not give the number of positions or the settings. If seat height matters for your build or your exercises, ask Bowflex or the retailer.
What to check before buying
- Load rating wording. The 272 kg figure is "maximum user + load weight", so it includes your bodyweight.
- Safety standard. BS EN ISO 20957-4:2016 covers strength training benches, according to BSI. The Bowflex page does not state compliance with it, so ask Bowflex or the retailer if that matters.
- Availability. The Bowflex page showed the item as sold out when it was opened in October 2026.
- Delivery. The page gives an approximate delivery term of 28 days from the order confirmation when paid by credit card, arranged with local operators. At 27.2 kg, check access to the room.
- Returns. The page states a 7-day cooling-off period, requests in writing by email, with the customer paying return shipping. GOV.UK's seller guidance says faulty or not-as-described items must be refunded; compare that with the seller's terms.
What are the alternatives?
For a comparison of benches by angle range, capacity and price, see best weight bench for a home gym. If stowing matters most, best folding weight bench UK explains how to judge folded sizes. The York Fitness 530 lists five positions plus a barbell rack and leg curl unit, and the Finer Form FID bench lists eight back-pad angles plus preacher curl and Roman chair set-ups but does not fold.
Who should skip the Bowflex 5.1S?
Skip it if you only press flat, if you want a shallow incline below 30°, or if the stowed height of about 133 cm does not suit your storage spot. Also skip it if you need the pad size, seat positions or locking method confirmed before ordering and cannot get them from the maker.
Price context
No indicative price is recorded for this bench in this review, so check the current price on the retailer's page and compare it with benches that list fewer positions. Prices move, and the maker's page shows a regular price and a sale price that may change.



