The York Fitness 530 Heavy Duty Multi-Function Barbell Bench is an adjustable bench with five listed positions, a three-height barbell rack and a plate-loaded leg curl unit. The maker states a 200 kg maximum user weight including the user, and it is listed at around £101.99 (checked Oct 2026). The site does not test products.
What does York say the 530 is?
York lists five workout positions: three incline, one flat and one decline. The seat pad adjusts to three positions to help prevent sliding at steeper inclines. A heavy-duty adjustable 2 in barbell rack with three height levels is built in, and a leg curl or leg developer unit takes standard 1 in plates, secured by a spring collar that is included. The leg unit has large padded foam rollers and a stated maximum load of 40 kg, and there is an attachment slot above it for optional accessories.
The maker says positions are changed by removing and replacing the adjustable bar behind the backrest. A preacher curl attachment and a lat pull-down attachment are listed as sold separately.
Who does the specification suit?
Going by the figures, this is an all-in-one bench for someone who wants incline, flat and decline pressing, a rack for barbell lifts and a leg curl station in one frame, at a lower price than the adjustable benches in the linked reviews. Someone who only needs flat work will pay for features they may not use; see the GYM MASTER flat bench review.
Specification
| Item | Maker's figure |
|---|---|
| Maximum user weight | 200 kg, including the user |
| Positions | 5: 3 incline, 1 flat, 1 decline |
| Seat pad | Adjustable, 3 positions |
| Barbell rack | Adjustable 2 in rack, 3 height levels (no capacity published) |
| Leg curl unit | Maximum load 40 kg; plate-loaded with standard 1 in plates, spring collar included |
| Dimensions | 165 cm long, 72 cm wide, 100-123 cm high |
| Product weight | 25 kg |
| Sold separately | Preacher curl and lat pull-down attachments |
| Warranty terms, assembly instructions | Not published on the page |
How much space does the York Fitness 530 need?
It needs more than a flat bench: 165 x 72 cm with the rack and leg unit fitted, against 110 cm for a flat bench such as the GYM MASTER. This section is reasoning from the stated figures, not a report of use. Measure the room, including space to load plates on both sides. The height range of 100-123 cm presumably spans the lowest and highest back-pad settings.
At 25 kg it is lighter than the 27.2 kg Bowflex 5.1S, but the York page lists no fold mechanism or wheels, so plan on it staying where you set it up. For ideas on fitting it into a room, see home gym storage ideas.
What is the maximum user weight?
The maker states 200 kg including the user. The leg curl unit has its own stated maximum load of 40 kg. A lifter of 80 kg would, on the 200 kg figure, have up to 120 kg for the bar and plates, before any margin the manual may require. That is a limit on the whole system; the page does not give a separate rack rating, so confirm with York how much the barbell rack is rated to hold.
Heavy lifting alone calls for proper safety catches; read home gym safety tips and compare a rack in best power rack for a home gym.
What positions does the York Fitness 530 offer?
The maker lists five positions: three incline, one flat and one decline. The seat pad has three positions and the barbell rack has three heights. The page does not list the incline angles in degrees, so check the manual if you need a specific angle for a given exercise.
How are the positions changed?
The maker states positions are changed by removing and replacing the adjustable bar behind the backrest. That means each change needs a re-set of that bar rather than a quick pin or lever; whether that matters depends on how often you change angles within a session.
How big is the York Fitness 530?
The maker lists dimensions of 165 cm long, 72 cm wide and 100-123 cm high, with a product weight of 25 kg.
Does the York page state a safety standard or warranty terms?
No. The maker page opened for this research does not state an EN standard and shows only a warranty registration link without terms, so ask York directly if either matters to you. BS EN ISO 20957-4:2016 covers strength training benches, according to BSI.
What do York's delivery and returns terms say?
York states delivery to England, Wales and lower Scotland only, not remote Scotland or the rest of the UK. Parcel delivery is stated as 3 to 5 working days from dispatch, and 2-person or pallet deliveries as up to 10 days with the carrier arranging a day. A signature is required, and orders may arrive in more than one delivery.
Returns are offered under a 14-day money-back promise: the customer pays return costs, and the item must be unused, in new condition and in its original packaging. York says equipment that has been unboxed, installed or assembled is not eligible. For a bench you cannot fully judge until you assemble it, that is a significant limit; GOV.UK's guidance for sellers says faulty or not-as-described items must be refunded, but check the seller's terms before opening the box.
Is the York Fitness 530 better value than a flat bench?
That depends on whether you will use what the extra money buys. At around £101.99 (checked Oct 2026) against around £54.99 for the GYM MASTER, the York adds three incline positions, a decline, a three-height rack and a leg curl unit, but not a stated warranty or rack rating. If you would use only the flat position, the plain bench covers it; if you would use the leg curl unit, remember its stated maximum is 40 kg and needs standard 1 in plates that the page does not list as included.
What to check before buying
- Safety standard. The page does not state a standard or class.
- Rack rating. The page lists no capacity for the barbell rack itself.
- Warranty. The page links to a warranty registration form but gives no terms.
- Assembly. The page gives no assembly instructions or time.
- Delivery area. Check your postcode is covered before ordering.
What are the alternatives?
For an adjustable bench with a wider angle list and a stated stowable design, see the Bowflex 5.1S review. For preacher and Roman chair set-ups, see the Finer Form FID review. For a side-by-side view, read best weight bench for a home gym, and for starting a setup see home gym equipment checklist for strength training.
Who should skip the York Fitness 530?
Skip it if you want a bench that stows or folds, if you need a stated rack capacity before buying, or if you only press flat. The three headline figures also measure different things: 200 kg is user plus load, 40 kg applies only to the leg curl unit, and the three rack heights describe where the bar rests, not how much it holds. Compare accordingly: the Bowflex states 272 kg as user plus load, and the GYM MASTER states 310 kg as a maximum load with no rack.
Price context
The bench is listed at around £101.99 (checked Oct 2026). That sits between the flat GYM MASTER bench and the Finer Form FID bench in this cluster. Prices and sale offers move, so check the current price.



