The GYM MASTER Adjustable Squat Rack Cage is a compact power rack with spotter arms and a pull-up bar. GYM MASTER's page lists a 200kg maximum load for the J-cups and spotters, a 120kg pull-up bar, 28 height positions and a 121.5 x 121.5cm base. It costs around £100 (checked Oct 2026). The site does not test products.
This review is based on the maker's page only. The maker leaves out several figures buyers may want, including total capacity, weight and warranty, and this page says so wherever it matters.
What the maker says it is
GYM MASTER sells it as an adjustable squat rack cage and pull-up station for squats, bench presses and pull-ups, in a gunmetal powder-coated finish. The frame is 50 x 50mm heavy-duty reinforced steel tube. The package lists J-cups, spotters, weight plate storage poles (one on each corner, with adapters for standard and Olympic plates), a solid steel knurled pull-up bar, ground anchoring bolts for the corner anchor points and assembly instructions. The maker says it takes standard and Olympic bars and suits 6ft International or 7ft bars.
Specification
| Item | Maker's listed figure |
|---|---|
| Size | 220.5cm high, 121.5cm wide, 121.5cm deep |
| Frame | 50 x 50mm tube; wall thickness not stated |
| Height adjustment | 28 holes (17mm), 5cm spacing, 45cm to 197.5cm |
| J-cup and spotter capacity | 200kg max load |
| Pull-up bar capacity | 120kg max load |
| Bar fit | Standard and Olympic bars; 6ft International or 7ft |
| Tools needed (not supplied) | Two 17mm spanners, one 14mm spanner, one 4mm Allen key |
| Total capacity, weight, warranty | Not stated on the page |
| Commercial use | Not suitable, per the maker |
| Indicative price | Around £100 (checked Oct 2026) |
What weight can the GYM MASTER power rack hold?
GYM MASTER's page lists a 200kg maximum load for the J-cups and spotters and 120kg for the pull-up bar. It does not state a total capacity for the whole frame. The 200kg figure is the maker's own rating for named parts, the page cites no test report or standard, and the load on the bar includes the bar itself. What loads suit you is a question for a qualified coach or fitness professional.
How tall is the GYM MASTER squat rack cage?
The maker lists 220.5cm high, 121.5cm wide and 121.5cm deep. Reasoning from those numbers, the 121.5cm square base is the smallest footprint among the racks compared on this site, but the 220.5cm height means a standard low ceiling or garage door may be a limit, so measure first. The highest hole setting is 197.5cm and the frame is 220.5cm, so check your own ceiling with any pull-up movement in mind.
Does it fit a 7ft barbell?
The maker states the rack suits 6ft International or 7ft bars and takes standard and Olympic bars. The page does not give the internal width between the uprights, so if you plan to bench inside the frame, check the bench's width against the 121.5cm base, using the specification of a bench such as those in the weight bench guide.
Who the specification suits
Reasoning from the figures, this is a low-cost entry point for a household that wants a cage with a small base. The 5cm hole spacing is coarser than the 1 inch spacing Body-Solid lists on the safeties of the SPR1000, which affects how finely heights can be set. The 200kg figure applies to the J-cups and spotters, not necessarily to the whole frame.
Who should skip the GYM MASTER cage?
Skip it if the rack will be used commercially, because the maker says it is not suitable, or if you need a published warranty or total capacity, because the page gives neither. It is also a poor fit if the floor cannot be fixed and the ceiling is lower than 220.5cm. Buyers who want a half-rack layout with a lat tower should look at the BodyPower TITAN, which lists a lifetime frame warranty and per-component capacities.
Should the GYM MASTER rack be bolted down?
GYM MASTER says "We strongly recommend bolting this rack to the ground", and the page says the corner anchor points give maximum stability. It supplies ground anchoring bolts for the corners. Because the base is small and the frame is 220.5cm tall, the advice is worth weighing against the floor you have. If you rent or have a delicate floor, see home gym equipment for renters, ask a qualified professional about fixings and ask the seller what the maker advises where fixing is not possible.
What to check before buying
- Assembly: required, with instructions included. The page lists tools you need that are not supplied: two 17mm spanners, one 14mm spanner and a 4mm Allen key.
- Stated limits: not for commercial use; 200kg J-cups and spotters; 120kg pull-up bar. Read the assembly instructions supplied with the rack for any further limits or warnings and keep them with the rack.
- Hole spacing figures: the page gives 28 holes at 5cm spacing and a range of 45cm to 197.5cm. Evenly spaced, 28 holes at 5cm would span 135cm, not the 152.5cm between those two settings, and the page does not explain the difference. Ask the seller for the exact hole positions if fine height setting matters to you.
- What the maker does not publish: wall thickness, total capacity, weight and warranty terms. Ask the seller for these in writing if they matter. The page links to delivery, returns and payment pages whose terms were not part of the specification, so read them before ordering.
- Returns: GOV.UK's guidance for sellers says a business must offer a full refund if an item is faulty, not as described or does not do what it is supposed to, and must offer a refund if a customer cancels an online order within 14 days of receiving it. Check the full page and the seller's own terms.
- Floor protection: see flooring for heavy weights.
What the specification implies, and what it does not
The page gives enough to compare the height range and footprint, but not enough to judge the frame as a whole. A 50 x 50mm tube without a stated wall thickness cannot be compared directly with the 75 x 75 x 3mm steel BodyPower lists for the TITAN. BSI's listing for BS EN ISO 20957-4 says its scope covers strength training benches and free-standing barbell racks, so ask the seller whether the rack is made to a relevant standard. The 28 positions at 5cm spacing mean the lowest and highest settings are 45cm and 197.5cm, but the safe set-up for any lift belongs in the manual and with a qualified professional. The maker does not state a floor load or weight either, so ask the seller if that matters for an upstairs room.
Alternatives
Larger and dearer options are the Body-Solid SPR1000 and the BodyPower TITAN half rack. For a ranked comparison see best power rack for a home gym, and for the layout question power rack vs half rack. The criteria are in how to choose a power rack.
How much does the GYM MASTER rack cost?
The indicative price is around £100 (checked Oct 2026). The rack appears in the "Where to buy" block with an affiliate link. Prices change, so confirm on the retailer's page.



